7 Natural Ways to Radiant Skin After 35

Jessica Santonato
5 min readDec 28, 2020

--

“ Be your own kind of beautiful.” — Anonymous

I dreaded turning 35. I grew up hearing about “youth” programs and benefits through the media for “those 35 and under”. Ageing medical advice would be directed to those “over 35”. Somehow, I perceived it to be the age everything would start to go downhill. Gah!

Now being a mom of three teens who is on the brink of 40…well, at times things can feel a bit…weathered, you can say.

Here’s the wild thing though. I can honestly say that I feel the most radiant and beautiful with each year that goes by- all in a natural way. And dang, it feels fantastic!

This was me last year at 37:

Many people comment on my skin and ask for my “secrets”, to which I often laugh off in humbleness. But truth be told, there are a number of things I attribute to glowing skin.

Try these personally-vouched-for tips. When we look in the mirror and see our face shining back at us, we feel just a bit more jazzed up inside as well.

  1. Inner peace

Your real glow starts within. If you’re holding onto resentment, anger, shame or sadness, it will show on your face. I have a friend who was once rampant with guilt in her life that she broke out in high amounts of acne as a result, something she pieced the cause and effect of herself.

What can you let go of in life that’s no longer serving you?

2. Laughter

It takes more facial muscles to frown than to smile and hey, human beings are innately attracted to happy faces. Smiling and laughing on a regular basis encourages yours cells to perform at their best (they vibrate along with you!), leading to an extra glow on your face that becomes magnetic to others.

3. Great sex

All that action, especially if orgasm is involved, makes blood cells rush to your face. The result? Optimal skin performance for that youthful radiance.

4. The RIGHT type of water

Okay, you might be thinking, “Isn’t water water?” Molecularly, yes. However, not all water is the same otherwise. Water sitting in a plastic bottle likely contains microplastics that have seeped in over time and is acidic for your body. Unfiltered tap water often contains toxins that you cannot see or taste, all which affects your body’s mechanisms. I personally drink Kangen water because I’ve experienced the difference it’s made for my body and I’ve seen what’s its done for others. What makes this ionized water unique is that it is full of hydrogen, the smallest atom on the periodic table, thus allowing it to penetrate right to the cellular level. It allows your body to become properly hydrated, unlike other water types that may just go through you. Remember, just because you drink 6–8 cups a day doesn’t mean that you’re hydrated! Your skin cells require water to repair, rejuvenate and turn over!

5. Conscious eating

Eating healthy is far from new advice. Let’s talk about eating consciously- with intent, presence and appreciation. Allow yourself to enjoy every ingredient that went into your meal. Keep your food in your mouth a bit longer to appreciate the texture and chew it that much longer before swallowing. Your body is one whole unit and how you intake your food will have an impact on your output: in this case, how radiant your skin displays itself to the world.

6. Clean products

What you put in and on your body matters. Your skin is your biggest organ and it absorbs everything. Aim to use as clean of products as possible. As product labels can be confusing and deceiving, I highly recommend CertClean, North America’s leading certification for safer beauty and personal care products.

https://www.certclean.com

7. Red light therapy

This one can be a higher financial investment, however I share it because I’ve been using it for the last six months and it’s noticeably toned and tightened my skin (face and body). From what I understand, one must use it consistently in order to to gain benefit. I aim to do it every three or four days for eight minutes on each area I want to improve. What’s awesome is I can get my morning reading and journalling done at the same time! The red light is supposed to stimulate collagen production, hence the welcomed results.

Cheers to your happy and radiant skin!

About Me:

Hi! Jess here :) After experiencing sexual assault and a domestic violence attack where I almost lost my life, I used health as my solace- something no one could take away from me and that helped me move forward powerfully. I believe in a healthy mindset, a loving heart and following your desires. This is why I share what I share.

I’ve been blessed to have shared my work in media such as Cosmopolitan Magazine, Rogers TV and various podcasts, and have given talks at Humber College, Mississauga City Hall, inner-city schools and at an event for international peace activist/conscious hip-hop artist, Emmanuel Jal.

www.JessicaSantonato.com

--

--